Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Imagine: How Creativity Works by Jonah Lehrer

Jonah Lehrer's newest book, Imagine, offers insights into the complex dynamics of creativity, based on research in neuroscience and psychology. His topics include the role of mind-altering drugs, why some urban environments are more conducive to innovation than others, the connection between mental illness and creativity, and why brainstorming doesn't work. Fascinating stuff.

The Brilliance audio recording [8 hours] is nicely produced, with the final sentence from the previous CD repeated at the start of the next one. I also like that the beginnings and endings of each CD are identified with a little bit of music. It's read by the author, whose public speaking experience is evident. Hear him read a few minutes from Imagine here, accompanied by great animation art.

Readalikes: Quiet (Susan Cain); Outliers (Malcolm Gladwell); Where Good Ideas Come From (Steven Johnson); My Stroke of Insight (Jill Bolte Taylor) and Information (James Gleick).


Shawna Lemay said...

I keep wondering if I should see out this book when I see the cover (eye catching) - you've convinced me I should.

Lindy said...

Shawna, how far into it did you get before losing enthusiasm? It's the kind of book that can be dipped into, if there are some aspects that interest you more than others.