Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Art & Max by David Wiesner

David Wiesner has been awarded the Caldecott Medal three times. His new book, Art & Max, is worthy of a fourth. Wow! Lizards like you have never seen before.

Arthur is a large and slightly cantankerous portrait artist, rather puffed with self-importance. Max is half Arthur's size, full of goofy enthusiasm, and wants to learn how to paint. From this beginning, events evolve into a metafictional free-for-all, with paint everywhere and drawing lines unravelled. Max's creative problem-solving is infectious and the story ends with a new and joyous freedom for everyone, including the reader.

Readalikes: Bad Day at Riverbend (Chris Van Allsburg); Harold and the Purple Crayon (Crockett Johnson); Have You Seen Art? (Jon Scieszka).

No comments: